Happy birthday Lien!

One of the greater things about my new hobby is that I can make personalised presents – which I love to do. Always a little bit nervous to see if the people will actually like what I made… but that’s the risk you take I guess 🙂

Lately I have been experimenting with recycling smoothie bottles into nice crochet vases. I made a big one that I decided to keep (and yes, I still need to finish the second one of that I’m making for the shop *oops*). The smoothie bottles also come in a slightly smaller size and I wanted to try that one out as well. So when the invite for Liens birthday came in, I didn’t have to think twice. I also had some smaller glass jars that would make great candelight holders… so I got going! 

The start of the project...
The start of the project…

I first made a go at the small jars. The had a little spot where they turned smaller in the middle, so I decided to keep it simple and just crochet a small band and add a button. I used catania grande for this project, a bit of yarn I had still lying around from a previous project. I was really happy with the result!

Finished!
Finished!
Detail of the band.
Detail of the band.
With a little candlelight...
With a little candlelight…

This turned out to be a quick project (about 20minutes for each light) and I think I’m going to upgrade all my plain glass candleholders soon as well… It’s a nice way to use up some leftover yarns and you get a quick result!

As you can see in the image above, I selected a white yarn to go along with the dark blue at first. But I didn’t like the result. The white yarn wasn’t cotton and the difference in fabric made it look ugly. So away with the white yarn and in with some light blue sun city yarn. Unlike my previous vase, that had 4 colours, I wanted to do something with two. And this is how it turned out:

2014-09-07 11.25.34

I’m happy with the result again. Yellow flowers for the picture from our garden – rudbeckia and jerusalem artichoke – the ones that are most eyecatching at this point of the year. 
Now all I have to do is hope that Lien likes them. I’m at her party right now when this gets posted – I love that you can write blogposts in advance and publish them whenever you feel like it. Cheers! 

2 thoughts on “Happy birthday Lien!

Leave a Reply

