A little update!

It’s been a good two weeks since my last post. I have been busy working on a costum order, made by my sister. She wanted me to make a fox hat and an elephant baby rattler, who still need to be done, but she also requested a babyblanket. She saw me working on the zoo blanket for Febe and wanted something in that line, but smaller, for a stroller.

So I started on my first costum order 🙂 I’ve crocheted a blanket that measures about 90 cm high and 60 wide. That means it can be used quite some time and also in the cradle/ park if the parents would like. I think even now, my daughter who’s 4, would be able to enjoy it in her stroller, as a warm blanket over her legs in wintertime.

This is how far I got so far.

The blank blanket.
The blank blanket.

I quite liked making the thing. It was ‘easy’ crochet work, because the white base is made out of rows of half double crochets. So no counting to do, no pattern to follow, just row after row. I made it while watching TV in the evenings and while being on the train to work – which in the end was getting trickier because of the size of the blanket.

Last night I searched a bit for a good elephant appliqué. The one that’s on the zoo blanket is not quite the elephant I’m looking for for this blanket. I’ll probably crochet that one later on tonight – it’s going to be light blue. I’m not sure if I’ll crochet a dark blue circle for underneath the elephant yet – we’ll see about that.

I’ve also been busy preparing for crochet class at work. Those who follow this blog for some time, know that I work in a school for kids aged 12-18 and I run a crochet class as a lunchtime activity. Last year the kids just could crochet whatever they wanted, but this year I’m also going to have a project running each period. They can choose between two designs and I’ll learn them how to make it.

For the first period, that runs up untill the fall holiday, I chose Halloween projects to start with. My eye fell on a ghost coaster (that would also make an excellent bunting) and a little pumpkin. You can find links to the patterns right here.

2014-09-26 19.39.59
Boooo!
2014-09-26 21.28.18
Cute little pumpkin.

Other than that, this weekend we also harvested our leeks from our little vegetable garden. Harvesting is always fun. It’s the first time our leeks grew so good and we already ate a delicious leek ‘pie’ yesterday (minced meat layer, leek layer, mashed potato layer and cheddar cheese on top). 10 more portions for the 3 of us are in the freezer 🙂

2014-09-28 11.20.24
My lovely husband harvesting his leek patch.
2014-09-28 11.56.32
Febe loves helping out with the harvest, especially if it involves washing 🙂

The weather has been ridiculously great the past weeks. Yesterday afternoon we went for a bikeride to a local procession with over 60 giants (more on that will follow on our travel blog) and I was dressed in a sleeveless top and a light summer pants 🙂 It doesn’t feel like autumn yet, but the farmers are harvesting the cornfields and leaves and chestnuts are falling. So it was time to add some fall decorations around the house, fresh from the garden as well. Another craft I like to do from time to time is flower arranging, which means I invested in a malus apple tree – ideal for decorations 🙂

2014-09-28 19.36.31
Some apples in the hall.
2014-09-28 19.34.41
And some in the living room.

I have a ton of crochet projects in mind … but one step at a time I guess 🙂

3 thoughts on “A little update!

Leave a Reply

