Boho sloughy beanie

In the beginning of Octobre my niece asked me if I could make a sloughy beanie for her, in grey and with a bordeaux red flower attached to it. I searched the net for nice hats and let her choose one – and she loved the boho sloughy beanie.

The pattern works the other way around then I am used to. Normally I crochet my hats beginning at the top with a flat circle and crochet in the round all the way down. For this pattern you first make a sort of headband, and then crochet the rest of the hat attached to that band. Ofcourse this is needed to make it sloughy.

A rather serious looking me with the headband.
A rather serious looking me with the headband.

I loved the way the headband looks, with the little cable stitch inside it. For those of you who have been following my blog for a while, you know I’ve attempted to make a headband previously and failed … I didn’t pick it up again yet, but will make headbands out of this pattern soon. Just an edge of single crochets to finish it off would do nice I think. I want one for me and one for Febe. She needs something to cover up her ears for when I pick her up with the bike. Her winter hats won’t fit underneath her bike helmet… But I’m drifting away!

The first rows of shells.
The first rows of shells.

On top of the headband the pattern works with rows of shells. I made this one with apilou yarn, which is a very soft yarn, but a thin one. A bit more work to the hat, but I loved the fine stitching this made.

I continued along untill I reached the right lenghth and then added a red flower, as asked.


2014-11-19 17.17.502014-11-19 18.23.08I really love how the hat turned out. Febe was able to put it on as well, though it is ofcourse a little wide for her, it did stay on for a couple of minutes 🙂 She already asked me to make one like that as well when she outgrows her fox hat :-p

I always tend to look serious on pics like this...
I always tend to look serious on pics like this…
The back of the hat :))
The back of the hat :))
A way more spontaneous model :-))
A way more spontaneous model :-))
Sewing toghether some blanket pieces...
Crocheting toghether some blanket pieces…

And yes, the neverending project “Zoo blanket” has continued this week as well. I already made three rows of squares that I have crocheted together. Next week I plan to crochet these rows together as well and make the final (!!) square of the blanket 🙂 I made the 11th tonight, with a cute little snake on it.

2014-11-22 22.19.03The end is nearing… 😉

7 thoughts on “Boho sloughy beanie

    1. Patience is needed for the blanket. Each square needs about 4-5 hours work 🙂 The hat is something you can do in between, which makes it quicker 🙂

Leave a Reply

