The last of 2014 … and the first of 2015!

First of all… let me start by wishing you guys all a wonderfull 2015 – hopefully with loads of yarn and crochet needles involved!

In this first blogpost of the New Year, I would love to share my final works of last year. It was my first year of crochet and I’m pretty excited when I look back at all the things I made. You can see an overview here.

My nephew had a request for a spiderman hat for his 6 year old son. I loved the challenge to make the hat – and especially loved the fact that it was a boy item. With a girl around the house I had never made anything really boyish (not counting the beanie I made for my husband). This is how it turned out:

spiderman

I made it without a pattern, like I love to do it – just browse pics on Pinterest and try to remake it. I’m really happy with how the spider turned out!

I thought this would be my last item for 2014. We were heading on a citytrip to Berlin and I wasn’t planning on taking any yarn with me there. As we returned though, the pillows I ordered for a friend as a New Years gift had arrived – and I just found them too plain. Inspired by the snow we had in Berlin, I decided to spike them up a bit with some snowflakes. So this is how these turned out:

2014-12-31 14.24.31 2014-12-31 14.25.54 2014-12-31 14.25.44

I loved doing them – althoug sewing them onto the pillows was quite some work 😉 I used a cotton yarn for them and a crochet hook 3mm.

Today I made my first items of 2015. My daughter had gotten some new playmobil items and ofcourse she wanted to play with them. I played along and during one of our scenarios, the kid was sleeping and the cat was feeling tired… But: the cat didn’t have a basket to play in. O-ow… So, upstairs wa went to choose some yarn and the basket was designed pretty easy 🙂

2015-01-02 12.11.51

Then we realised that the little girl didn’t have a blanket for her new bed…

2015-01-02 13.44.43

And, well, errrm, the dog needed a sleeping basket as well, right?

2015-01-02 14.12.20

It was really quick to whip up these little toys for her, and she loved it. She chose the yarn colours herself and I’m already thinking of other playmobil yarn items I could make 😉

By the way: she is really happy with the zoo blanket, and it turned out just the perfect size for her bed. When she needs a bigger bed, mum will have to make a new one I’m afraid 😉 Haven’t made a picture of it yet, but I will get around to that for the next blogpost!

 

Leave a Reply

