Northern Lights beanie

A while ago, my dad told me he would love a new hat. I browsed pinterest with him and the northern lights beanie by Pattern Paradise caught his eye.
Yesterday I went over to my local yarn supplier to try and find matching brown yarn with his coat, but couldn’t find the right colour. So I decided to go with light brown.

2015-01-11 08.14.24

The beanie was fun to make. The pattern alternates between rows of double crochets, single crochets (only made in the back loop – which adds a fun little edge to the row) and a ribbled part by making front post double crochets and back post double crochets. It had been a long time since I tried those and I struggled a few times with the back post double crochets, but got the hang of it after a row or two.

2015-01-10 23.43.34

I was on a roll last night and decided to finish it so I could hand it over to dad this morning. I was really happy with the result, and so is he 🙂

2015-01-11 09.24.54

Next project – starting in a minute or two – Olaf from Frozen. Febe is watching the movie again. We bought it a week before Christmas and she’s watched it 10 or 12 times by now… And she’s constantly quoting Olaf 🙂 She’ll be surprised once she sees what I’m up to I think 🙂

2 comments

Leave a Reply

