A new smartphone cover – free pattern

Last year, when I just bought my new smartphone, I was new to crochet and I made a cover for my phone, rather than buying an expensive fancy one. It was a grey cover and the method I used was a simple pattern I found in my very first crochet book ever. It consisted of making two rectangular pieces of single crochets, and sewing them together. It had two buttons and a fancy ribbon at the top, and I was really happy with it. Though: it did show the seam. And it was not completely symmetric. And grey is not a summer colour.

DSC_0192So it was time for something new. With my last order of yarn I made sure I added some extra blue and white for a new cover. I worked with Catania Grande for the new cover – a yarn that I really love. It’s 100% pure cotton, which means it doesn’t “plush” after a while. It’s a firm string of yarn, for a crochet hook size 4 – 4,5 mm. I worked with it for the DVD hangup system I made last year for Febe, and that is still hanging firmly in the car and doing it’s job very well, so it’s a trustworthy yarn for me!

I decided to go with a simple tree colour pattern as I saw passing by on Pinterest – as always a big source of inspiration when making something new. I didn’t have a pattern to work from, but had by now learned enough to invent something on my own – and the result has turned out quite good I think. As often is the case, the picture above actually doesn’t really do it justice 🙂

As I promised in my earlier blogpost, I will try to write up free patterns as much as I can here, so here we go with the first one. I am using American stitches here – just to be clear!

If you want to go with the 3 colours like I did, you need 3 balls of yarn in matching colours. I used Catania Grande and needed about 25gr of yarn, so there will be plenty of yarn left for other projects!

– start by making a chain as wide as your phone is
– crochet 1 extra chain
– turn your work
– crochet 1 single crochet in each stitch of the row, but crochet 2 single crochets in the last stitch
– don’t turn your work, but crochet further in the round, on the other side of the chain you started with
– start with two single crochets in the first stitch
– crochet 1 single crochet in each stitch of the row again, and crochet 2 single crochets in the last stitch

From now on, you continue working in rounds, just placing one single crochet in each stitch.There is no turning involved here! Don’t double your corners anymore! You only need to do that in the first row, to round your shape.

When you feel like you are high enough, you can switch colours, or just make it in one colour and add a button, or a flower, or… to the front to decorate it a bit.

Good luck!

PS: you can make and sell items made from my patterns. Please mention my blog when selling items, or link to it when blogging about it. Don’t use my pictures as your own. Thank you for being considerate!

 images cat_twittercat_facebook cat_instagram cat_pinterest

2 comments

Leave a Reply

