Happy birthday flagline!

For Febes 5th birthday I wanted to add a personal touch to the party decorations. To celebrate her birthday, I always like to dress up the house with flaglines and balloons. A handmade flagline with her name and age on it was my goal. She chose to have a baby elephant on one of the flags herself.

To start with, I first made the letters and number 5, to see how big they would turn out. Everything was crocheted in Catania yarn. Here you can find a free pattern for letters (in Dutch) and one for numbers.

2015-06-15 16.31.56 2015-06-15 11.58.07

Then I made the flaglines. It’s important to make the tip first and then increase up to the widest point you need. You can find a quick tutorial (in Dutch) on this blog. I chose to use half double crochets, one of my favourite stitches ever. I crocheted an edge around each flag in a different colour to finish it off.

2015-06-17 09.35.23 2015-06-17 12.34.27

Next up was a big line to sew the flags onto. I made that one in half double crochets as well, and attached a small button to each side. The half double crochets are wide enough to double as a button hole, so you can wrap the flagline around a thinner or bigger item, and still can attach it easily. I’ve used this technique a couple of times and I’m very happy with it 🙂

The elephant she ordered was made by an appliqué tutorial by Repeat Crafter Me – you can find the link here. To finish off I added two smaller flags in between the elephant and her name, and her name and her age, as a sort of space in between words 😉

This is the final result:

IMG_20150628_133213

2015-06-24 14.01.59

I’m very happy with the result. For the next years I’m going to make a new number and update the final flag with her new age.

I think it’s safe to say that it’s one of my favourite crochet projects ever. It took me a lot of work to complete though, so if you want to make one of your own – start on time 🙂

xox

Annick

images cat_twittercat_facebook cat_instagram cat_pinterest

2 comments

    • Thanks! You might also use it as a baby shower gift, or just blank as decoration… There are many options for a flagline like this!

Leave a Reply

