“Get whale soon” tissue box cover

As soon as I saw this pattern pass by on Moogly, I just knew I had to make it! We have tissue boxes in almost every room of the house and it’s my goal to make a cover for all of them. Currently, this one is sitting in our living room ๐Ÿ˜‰

2015-10-30 13.47.12

I’ve been working on him for a long periode, at least, according to my crochet speed. That’s because I’ve been making him while I teach the kids at school how to crochet. The last few lessons I’ve had less kids coming over (there’s a technical club at the same moment building robots and stuff, to most teenagers that’s a tad more intresting), so it went fast all of the sudden. If I only have to help 2 or 3 instead of 10 it makes a big difference ๐Ÿ˜‰

The pattern is free, and easy to follow. I did make some changes: after a couple of rows ‘going down’ on the sides of the box (you crochet in rounds at that point) I found it didn’t go fast enough. So I switched from sc to hdc – my favourite stitch since the zoo blanket last year ๐Ÿ˜‰ I also found that the cover was a bit too wide, so in the last 3 rows I decreased a bit. On the small sides I made 2 decreases in a row, and 3 on the longer sides. It made the cover thighter at the bottom, making sure it stays around the box more neatly.

Have fun creating one of your own!

 

images cat_twittercat_facebook cat_instagram cat_pinterest

Leave a Reply

