Rudolf the red nosed reindeer hat

It’s the Merry Season, and ofcourse that means some Merry crochet work as well. Being a huge fan of Repeat Crafter Me her Rudolf hat couldn’t be skipped in my collection of crochet items. You can find the free pattern here.

I had a bit of a hard time finding the right colours of yarn for it. My local yarn shop did have good colours, but in a way thicker yarn – the pattern is designed for a 5mm hook, and I found yarn for an 8mm hook. I decided to improvise, after all – I’ve made my shares of hats in the past. It worked out quite OK, but the hat did turn out slightly larger than I had expected. No real harm done though, Febe will be able to use it for quite a long time – it’s even just right for me to fit into.

2015-12-13 09.37.00

As you can see, she was quite happy with it. I modified the pattern by using single crochets instead of hdc and I didn’t go quite as wide as it described.
The pattern refers you to a site to download a template for the antlers and eyes, because you have to cut them out of felt. I was thankfull for that, because cutting out felt is not my biggest talent 😉 However, I had some trouble downloading it, because the damn site kept wanting me to subscribe and pay for it. In the end I just used a screenshot and printed that out, and the size worked out OK.

The only downside is that the ears and antlers keep falling to the back when she wears the hat. I’m still thinking of ways to keep them stand up more – but haven’t figured that out yet. If any of you guys have an idea, please share it with me 🙂

In the mean time I have decided to sell some products at a local handmade market that is held in June. So I’m making some small items in between to have a bit of a stock to take with me. I have no idea if I’ll actually sell anything, but it’s worth a shot 🙂

Leave a comment