Sofa covers for mum and dad

Before I start this post, I should start with explaining that these sofa covers are the last thing I made for my mum. My sweet mum died completely unexpected two weeks ago. She passed away in her sleep due to heart failure, at the age of 66. Much too soon, much too young. She left us all helpless.

I started work on the sofa covers a while ago, last year in spring  I think. It was a project I kept working on in between, when I had some spare time. Mum asked me to crochet something for their sofa, because there was a damaged spot on dads side. Replacing the leather would cost them a lot of money, so she asked for my help.

I pinned some things for inspiration, because I wanted it to start with some sort of granny square. She choose the daisy flower petal pattern from Repeat Crafter Me and I worked from that. As colours we picked colours that were already present in their living room. I like the end result, and I am so gratefull that I was able to finish it before she passed away.

2015-12-27 13.39.21

In total I made four things for mum. You can see her smartphone pouch on this picture as well, next to her glasses on the coffee table. She had an owl keychain buddy as well, and the crochet shawl I made for her last year. She was really proud of that one, and used to wear it everytime she went out to something fancy. It accompagnied her on her last trip ever as well. My sweet mum, I miss you more than words can ever express.

2016-02-05 09.50.48-2

2 thoughts on “Sofa covers for mum and dad

  1. Sending you hugs and wishing you all the best in the weeks and months to come.
    I remember when I saw these covers the first time. They really stood out and was extra special. I loved the work you did on them.
    Its not easy when your Mom passes early. I miss mine, and its been 13 years now. She was only 53.
    Be strong and take care. xx

  2. Thank you for your kind words. It’s amazing how many people tell me about their losses of a mum or dad, gone too soon as well. I always imagined that most people get old and only a minority die young. I was clearly mistaken. I wish you strength with your loss as well, even if it has been 13 years. I guess it’s something you’ll always carry with you!
    xx

Leave a Reply

