Crochet hairbands

A friend of mine started selling some of her crochet work on local handmade markets, and I thought it would be a fun idea to do so as well. Not frequent, but once or twice a year maybe. I’m far to busy with making stuff for my girl, our house and as gifts to be doing a lot of extra crochet work.

For the homemade market I’m aiming on small items, that I don’t need to price high. There is one which is held in open air at the end of June, in my neighbourhood, so I want to try to make stuff for that.

I crocheted these hairbands in the same puff stitch as the crochet stool cover used. I just make the first two rounds and sew them onto a hairband.

IMG_20160228_112949

I think they look quite chearfull!

I’ve also made some other hairbands (with a bowtie), and I’m planning to make some with a heart on top as well. Other than that I’ve got one Arlo, one older beanie that didn’t fit the toddler it was made for, a whale tissue box cover, a diaper bag, some hairclips (I plan to make 16 more) and two candle holders so far… I plan to make 12 more of those as well.

It’s a start, isn’t it? πŸ™‚

 

9 comments

    • Well, it doesn’t help much with mine. She doesn’t want to wear any of the hairclips or hairbands πŸ˜‰ She does like my amigurumi work!

      • Your amigurumi work are stunning. Mine is much older now, and have complimented me on some of the items I did for her, saying it looks better than the items in her favourite Brand. That helps. πŸ™‚ Yours will come around too!!

      • Awesome. Please may I ask where in SA? Close to Johannesburg, or just passing through here? Lucky You!! πŸ™‚
        If you need anything while here, just let me know. πŸ™‚ Anytime!!

      • We are only passing through the airport of Johannesburg. Doing a route from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth, taking in Hermanus & Oudshoorn along the way. Pretty excited about the whole trip. Any recommend places to eat out are always welcome πŸ™‚

      • I thought so. πŸ™‚ Many visitors normally just pass through the airport. Its a pretty airport at least.
        You will love the route you are planning. The coast is beautiful. Any place in Hermanus is lovely. If you are into teddybears, you must visit Margi’s Bears. And of course, see the whales. I am not sure if you will be here in their peak visiting season, but its so worth it.
        And of course Oudtshoorn has the caves and ostriches. If you are into wildlife, you must visit the cheetahs at Cango Wildlife ranch.
        Most of the places out there have excellent food and meals. Being at the coast, the seafood is fresh and excellent. πŸ™‚

      • We do plan to get back to the country when Febe is older, and take in the east – and then I think Johannesburg might be our starting point. For now we’re staying away from the malaria zones.
        We will be there in peak whale season indeed and plan to take a whale cruise. Hadn’t heared of Cango Wildlife ranch, I’ll look into it!

      • Absolutely. Makes perfect sense. And Johannesburg is a very busy Metro. Can be rather overwhelming.
        So glad you will be seeing the whales. I adore them. And I think Febe may like the Cango Wildlife ranch. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

