A blanket for Lola

Our girl recently turned 7. She received a lot of birthday money, and together with her pocket money she saved up, she could go to the toy store and pick what she wanted. She choose a science box, to create a dinosaur island. Two boxes of lego (Lego Friends pony stables and Vaiana lego) and Lola.

Lola is a toy dog, which barks, can walk (roll actually) and she eats and poos biscuits. I kid you not. A big hit! Even though we have the real thing at home, aka Túrin, Lola is very popular with Febe.

And ofcourse, Lola needed a place to sleep. At first the doy toll got thrown out of her bed, and was put in the Ikea stool (which has storage space). Lola was put in the babybed… besides Febes bed.

I had a small metal basket that I saved up for a case off “you never know when this will come in handy” and some leftover yarn… and I felt sorry for the doll. So I made a little basket for Lola.

The yarn I had left was from making hats, and it’s a thicker yarn called Boston. I love working with it – and it requires an 8mm hook. I wanted to make a granny square and found this beautiful free granny pattern. I followed the pattern untill row 7 and then used different colours to edge it untill it was book enough.

For this I attached my yarn in a colour, and then made 3 chain, 1 dc, 3 chain, 2dc. On the flat side one dc in each previous stitch, and the next 3 corners should be 2dc, 3 chain, 2 dc. You end with a slip stitch in the 3d starting chain, and bind off before starting a new colour.

It had been a long time since I tried a granny square again and I loved it. This worked up in about half an hour and I really like the colours. It’s a colour pattern I’m keeping in the back of my mind for when I’m going to make a blanket for our new bedroom (yes, loads of redecorating coming up here the next months!).

Oh, and by the way, I couldn’t leave you without a picture of our real dog as well 😉 Have a great evening!

tuurtje

images cat_twittercat_facebook cat_instagram cat_pinterest

Leave a Reply

